Iceland. GATT effective April 21, 1968. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Indonesia. GATT effective March 1, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Iran. Iran accorded most-favoured-nation treatment by Order in Council from September 5, 1956. (Canada grants most-favoured-nation tariff rates as long as Iran accords reciprocal treatment.)

Iraq. Special arrangement by Order in Council effective September 15, 1951. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Ireland. Trade Agreement in force January 2, 1933, modified by exchange of letters on December 21, 1967, was terminated by Ireland on January 31, 1973, as a result of Ireland's accession to the EEC. (The tariff preferences it extends to Canada are being phased out over a transitional period ending in 1977.) GATT effective December 22, 1967.

Israel. GATT effective July 5, 1962. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Italy. Modus vivendi by exchange of notes effective April 28, 1948. GATT effective January 1, 1950. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Ivory Coast. Franco – Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Ivory Coast. GATT effective August 7, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Japan. Agreement on Commerce effective June 7, 1954. GATT effective September 10, 1955. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Khmer Republic (formerly Cambodia). Franco — Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Cambodia. Became a de facto member of GATT in 1968. (Since the creation of Cambodia as an independent state in 1955, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Korea, Republic of. Trade Agreement in force December 20, 1966. GATT effective April 14, 1967. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Kuwait. GATT effective June 18, 1961. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Laos. Franco – Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Laos. (Since the creation of Laos as an independent state in 1955, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Lebanon. Special arrangement by Order in Council of November 19, 1946. (Canada grants most-favoured-nation tariff rates as long as Lebanon accords reciprocal treatment.)

Liberia. Special arrangement by Order in Council effective March 1, 1955. (Canada grants most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Liechtenstein. (See Switzerland.)

Luxembourg. (See Belgium – Luxembourg.)

Malagasy Republic. Franco – Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Malagasy Republic. GATT effective September 30, 1963. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Mali. Franco – Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Mali. Mali maintains a de facto application of GATT. (Since the creation of Mali as an independent state in 1960, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Mauritania. Franco – Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Mauritania. GATT effective November 28, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)